Face masks are a huge deal these days. It’s hard to find a beauty blog or YouTube beauty channel without the discussion of face masks. People tell you the ones good for oily skin, dry skin, and just for good ol’ relaxation. I decided to try a bunch of the masks I have, so I can tell you which ones apply easily, and which ones I could throw out without a second thought. I’ve also had some of these for a bit and needed to try them for my own benefit.

Global Beauty Care Charcoal Wash-Off Mask
Spoiler alert: this might be my favorite.

Purpose: According to the packaging, it is for all skin types, and deep cleans, unclogs pores, and lifts away impurities with a mud based formula without over-drying. It claims that your face will “look cleaner and feel softer, from the inside out.”

IMG_3847

Application: The packaging makes it easy to just squeeze the mask onto your hand, so you can have control in your application. I actually really like the packaging, and the product doesn’t just slide out, it neatly comes out on your hand, instead of making a

 

mess. It goes on your skin smoothly and easily, and even feels a little cool. It isn’t heavy like other mud-like masks I’ve used, and you can even do anything else you need while it sits on your face for 15 minutes.

Results: It is incredibly easy to wipe off, especially if you use a cloth like I do. My skin feels amazing every time after I use it. It’s soft and feels incredibly clean.

Extra Info: This mask is Ph Balanced, Hypoallergenic, and is NOT tested on animals. I got this sample product from ipsy’s subscription glam bag, and it is available at Bed Bath & Beyond for $4.99.

Whish Renewing Mud Mask

Purpose: This mask is supposed to provide a gentle exfoliation to reveal “smoother, softer, more youthful looking skin”. Their formula is designed to renew, purify, smooth, and soften.

IMG_3852

Application: The size I have is a sample, and it is a tube, which makes it easy to make a mess. It feels cool as it goes on, but the instructions do warn that it is similar to a facial peel, and you may experience temporary redness and warmth. You begin by leaving it on for only 15 seconds and slowly work up to 2 minutes, 1-2 times per week.

 

Results: It can turn almost clear, so it’s difficult to get every last bit of it off. It looks like it should be a mask, but it’s really more of a cleanser or exfoliant. I’ve tried this one multiple times, hoping for different results as I changed my tactics, which you shouldn’t have to do, but I always end up red and miserable. I’m sure others have had better experiences, but maybe this just isn’t great for my sensitive skin.

Extra Info: It is free of parabens, sulfates, phthalates, DEA and TEA, and petrochemicals. It is naturally sourced and contains organic ingredients. I got this product in an ipsy glam bag, and you can get this in a full size from Nordstrom for $48.00.

Elizavecca Milky Piggy Carbonated Bubble Clay Mask

Purpose: “The bubbles help exfoliate dead skin cells and unclog pesky pores while delivering the nutrients deep into the skin. The effect is purer, tighter pores and excessive sebum-control that helps fight against future clogging.” It is suitable for almost all skin types, especially oily. IMG_3849

Application: When you open the container, there is a little stick to use as an applicator, and underneath, is another lid, which has the actual mask underneath. It feels cold as it goes on, and is incredibly easy to apply with the applicator. However, while you are putting it on, it will often are begin to bubble up. After 5 minutes, to get a deeper clean, massage the bubbly mask for 1-2 minutes, then rinse.

Results: After you massage it in, it is a little difficult to get off what is left on your face (and fingers), so I have always used a cloth to help get it off, which leaves my face a little pink. However, my skin feels lovely afterward. It is soft and just visibly clean.

Extra Info: This product is Korean, and the container it came in, has directions in only Korean. When I first bought this product last year, after seeing it online, I had to Google the instructions. It is so weird, because it bubbles up like CRAZY, and it tickles even more. You can buy it on Amazon for $10.20. For reference, I’ve had this for almost a year and I’m probably just over half way through it.


Laneige Water Bank Soothing Gel Mask

Purpose: This mask is used to hydrate and cool, and soothe and calm skin.

IMG_3930

Application: This is a gel mask, and you have to peel the plastic/paper off of the top half of the mask as well as the bottom half. Hilariously enough, The plastic slipped off of the top half of the mask, and when I first opened it, I thought it was just a really uncomfortable mask. It’s super easy to put the actual masks on, you leave them on for 30 minutes, and all of it stays on while you go on with your day. Every once in a while it would slip down a bit, but not too much.

Results: My skin felt so smooth and soft after taking it off. It was incredibly hydrating, but didn’t make me feel oily or greasy. My face may have been a little pink after removing it, like many masks do to my sensitive skin, but it didn’t hurt at all.

Extra Info: I actually received this mask in a Target Beauty Box. Yes, those exist. Unfortunately, I couldn’t find this product on the target website any longer. However, you can purchase this mask on the Laneige website for $24.00, and this one has five masks!

L’Oreal Pure-Clay Mask(s)
This was a combination of three different masks, that are designed to do different things, and can all be used on your face at the same time.

Purpose:
Black/ Detox & Brighten Mask: This is for dull and tired skin, and is supposed to clean out pores, while leaving skin feeling “clean, velvety, and rebalanced”.
Red/ Exfoliate & Refining Mask: Use this where pores look more enlarged, and works to unclog and tighten pores, while exfoliating dead skin cells and smoothing imperfections.
Green/ Purify & Mattify Mask: This is for oily and shiny skin. It is supposed to reveal clarify, mattify, refresh the complexion, and reduce oil, without over-drying.

IMG_3854

Application: I had samples of the three masks, so the packaging was not conducive for easy application. It was also hilarious trying to put all three of them on, which they refer to as “#multimasking”. You leave it all on for 10-15 minutes before removing with water.

Results: When I took it off, my skin felt clean and tight, but it was already very red. I didn’t like the exfoliating red mask very much. It just felt lumpy and more like an exfoliant than a mask. I think I will try them separately next time, but none of it impressed me as much as I thought.

Extra Info: I also got these in a Target Beauty Box! You can get the Detox & Brightening Mask, the Exfoliate & Refining Mask, and the Purify & Mattify Mask for $12.99 each on the L’Oreal website.

Yes to Grapefruit Pore Perfection Brightening Peel

Purpose: It is supposed to make dull skin look “bright and radiant while shrinking the appearance of pores.” It also claims to diminish dark spots, even out skin tone, and leave your face feeling fully rejuvenated. This product seems to be for all skin types: mature, oily, combination, normal, and dry.

Application: It is in a little tub (that sounds weird, but ya know), so you have to scoop it out with your hand and apply it to your face. It does feel a little strange doing this. You are supposed to apply up to 3 times per week, and rinse off after 10 minutes. It also suggests following it with another “Yes to” product.  IMG_3848

Results: Honestly, my skin didn’t feel much different. I’ve used this many times, and I’ve tried a few different things to see if I could get different results. It says it’s a peel, so I feel like you should be able to peel it off… wouldn’t you? So to do that, you have to put a thicker layer on, and keep it on longer…. this just made my face very red and felt like it was burning, and I had to (my favorite) moisturizer on to calm my skin down.

Extra Info:
I got this after looking up products that will brighten my boring-ass skin, help with my huge pores, and hopefully be free of some products I don’t prefer. It’s available at Target for $15.99.
Fun health stuff: 96% Natural. Paraben, SLS, and Silicone Free. Cruelty-free. aluminum chlorohydrate-free, phthalate-free, PABA-free, lanolin-free, mineral oil-free, Soap-free, dye-free, contains vitamin E, Talcum-free, Petroleum-free, DMDM Hydantoin-free, butylparaben-free, formaldehyde donor-free, formaldehyde-free, nonylphenol ethoxylate free, propylparaben-free.

Overall Impressions

Honestly, if you want a mask that works for you, do some research. Look for masks that you prefer (e.g. sheet, clay, mud), are made for your skin type (e.g. oily, combination, dry), and offer your desired results (e.g. brightening, calming, deep-cleaning).
After that, it’s probably going to be trial and error.

But, have fun! Masks are supposed to be fun and cute, while helping your skin. Take some snapchats with your mask on… especially if it’s a bubbly one. πŸ™‚

