It’s Glam Bag & Sephora Play timeeeeee!

It’s my favorite time of the month, and I’m excited to tell you all what I think of these products at first glance, and after testing them out. I will also make sure to provide links for you to purchase the items if you are interested.

Ipsyipsy bag june
As I’m sure you all know, ipsy is a subscription “glam bag”, and you get 5 samples each month in a cute makeup bag for only $10! If you haven’t already, you can subscribe right here!
This month’s theme was “Volume Up”, and I’m willing to guess that they chose this, because they put a bright colored product or two in each bag. The bag is a fairly simple design, but still cute.

Kokie Professional Cosmetics Nail Polish, in the color Atlantis At Last

FullSizeRender (8)

I was so excited to get nail polish in this month’s glam bag!! AND this color is gorgeous. I always wear nudes, dark colors, or the occasional red nail, so this is very different than usual. I was nervous as I was putting it on, but I also couldn’t wait to see it. I am in love. It is the perfect consistency, and it doesn’t even take that long to dry! I applied two coats, and I haven’t had a chance yet to put a top coat on, and it still looks awesome.

Even better, this is a FULL SIZE SAMPLE! You can get this same size on the Kokie website for $6.00.

Skyn Iceland Glacial Face Wash 

IMG_4041

I always love getting new face washes, because I’ve found some of my favorites from subscription box samples. I tried this one in place of my regular face wash, while I was in the shower, and it felt lovely. It smells just like Zest bar soap, which sounds strange, but it’s that nice clean smell.
This company seems to market themselves toward “stressed skin”, which mine definitely is. I also appreciate that it excludes many ingredients that I prefer makeup and skin care without. This face wash is free of parabens, petroleum, mineral oil, chemical sulfates and phthalates. It is 100% vegan and cruelty-free. It has been dermatologist tested for sensitive skin, which sounds like a no-brainer, but you wouldn’t believe the products I have used that were not made for sensitive skin, and have really harmed my skin.

My sample is 0.68 fl. oz, but you can get a full 5 oz size at Ulta for $30.00.

Nyx Professional Makeup Whipped Lip and Cheek Soufflรฉ in the shade Plush

lipcheek

Listen. I love lipstick. I love blush. I love things that can serve more than one purpose. HOWEVER, I absolutely do not like this. I pulled this product out and I immediately groaned. As I mentioned, I don’t prefer bright colors, so my ipsy preferences match that, and I really don’t like pink. I immediately tried this on my lips and felt like I was Barbie on the way to the Dreamhouse. I looked at the tube and realized that it is also supposed to be used as a cheek color. WHAT?! I definitely couldn’t imagine wearing both as the same time. I’d look like Peppa Pig!

But… we have a FULL SIZE ALERT! It stinks that it’s a product I don’t prefer, but it’s always nice to get a full size sample. You can get the full size at Ulta for $5.99.

 

the Balmยฎ cosmetics Balm Beach Blush in the shade In Full Swing

FullSizeRender (7)I really hate getting this brand, and I think I’m going to put in my product review that I don’t prefer this brand. The samples are always in awkward tiny sizes and it’s difficult to use it. However, the shade is much closer to what I prefer than what I usually get. It just doesn’t seem as pigmented as my regular blush and it seems to wear off easier. I had to reapply it just when I was trying to blend it. I think this would be great for someone who doesn’t need much color on their cheeks (like this pale chica does).

If you want to try this out, you can get a full size on the Balm website for $21.00.

Hey Honey Uncover Detoxifying Mud Mask

FullSizeRender (6)

Ipsy has been doing this fun thing lately, where they let you pick one product of about five different choices to go into your glam bag! This was the item I chose, because, if you’ve read any of my beauty posts, you know I love mud masks. This one was a little different, though. It was fairly thin and didn’t smell as great as other masks I’ve used. It’s for normal to oily skin types, which is what mine is right now, which is perfect. It is supposed to “refine and deeply clarify the skin, aid in sebum regulation, and minimize large pores”, while leaving the skin smooth and refreshed. It didn’t feel bad, but it wasn’t great either.

If you want the full size mud mask, you can get it at Ulta (online only) for $54.00.

BONUS: Dr. Brandt Pores No More Pore Refiner Primer

IMG_4045

Through ipsy, you can get points for different things, such as others subscribing to the service using your personal code and reviewing products. I have had some points for a while I’ve wanted to use, but have never found something available I wanted to spend them on. I decided to spend some points on this product, because if you claim to mattify and shrink the look of my pores… I’m all in.
I’ve used different primers, but I don’t always use on, because they can manage to make my foundation look worse and last a shorter amount of time! This one is for oily/combination skin (me! me!), and is supposed to “immediately minimize the appearance of pores by diffusing light”. In addition, it “absorbs oil, reduces shine and helps regulate oil production”. I mean, that sounds pretty perfect. It is also not a clear silicone, like many I have seen. It has a tint to it, but it doesn’t look like it transfers to your skin. Once again, I was disappointed by a primer. I just don’t think they work well with my skin.

However, you can get a full size at Ulta for $45.00.
I would say really liking 3 of the 5 products isn’t too bad! After doing the math and estimations…. this glam bag was worth about $34.00 (not including the sample I used my points on)! That’s a STEAL!

FullSizeRender (9)

Now, let’s see how Sephora did this month!

Play! by Sephora
As a reminder, Play! by Sephora is also $10/month, and you receive 5 samples and a fragrance! Each month, there is a featured brand, and this month is was Kat Von D! I was so excited when I heard that, so let’s see how I felt after using my products!

 

Benefit Cosmetics The POREfessional Face Primer

FullSizeRender (13)

As I’ve said a billion times before, I’m not a primer girl. This one wasn’t as bad as others, but it still didn’t work well with my skin or my foundation. However, it was very creamy and felt good going on my skin, unlike other primers. I think this probably will work well for other people and other skin types.
This is supposed to help minimize the appearance of pores and fine lines for “smoother-than-smooth” skin. It contains Vitamin-E, and is oil-free!

The sample I received was pretty small, but you can get a full size in 0.25 oz for $12.00, or 0.75 oz for $31.00 from Sephora.

First Aid Beauty Hello FAB Coconut Skin Smoothie Priming Moisturizer

FullSizeRender (10)

I used this alone as a moisturizer, and it feels absolutely lovely! It doesn’t smell too much like coconut, which is nice, because I love using coconut oil moisturizer, but sometimes the smell is too harsh. It is supposed to be good for dryness, dullness, pores, uneven skin tone, and uneven texture. This product is free from alcohol, artificial colorants, artificial fragrance, lanolin, mineral oil, parabens, petrolatum, phthalates, propylene glycol, and sulfates. I love seeing this, because I prefer products that don’t have these chemicals or artificial fragrances. In addition, it has been allergy-tested, and is gluten-free, non-comedogenic, nut-free, oil-free, soy-free, vegan, and suitable for sensitive skin. Basically, this product is good for your health, the environment, and your skin!
I’ve been using this moisturizer at night after I take my makeup off/before bed. I wake up the next morning, and my face feels soft and clean.

At Sephora, you can get this moisturizer in a 0.75 oz tube for $14.00 or a 1.7 oz tube for $28.00!

OUAI Rose Hair & Body Oil

FullSizeRender (11)“Time to get you an oil that can do both.” This oil can be used on your hair to make it smooth, shiny, and nourished, and on your skin as a hydrating moisturizer. And it smells absolutely amazing. I used it on my hair and it did exactly what it is supposed to, as my hair is smooth and shiny. But I prefer using it on my skin, because it is just so damn soft and I smell so damn good. It felt amazing to put on my skin after leaving the beach this weekend.

You can, and should, get this oil from Sephora or OUAI for $32.00. Don’t worry, the full size is a whole lot bigger than my sample.
Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in the color K-Dub

FullSizeRender (15)

Disregarding the color, this is excellent lipstick! It goes on smoothly, feels great, and is incredibly pigmented. Now, let’s go back to the color. It is so bright, and I haven’t decided how I feel about it. It would be fun for certain occasions… like a rave, or if it’s dark and you need light to get home. It’s also a bright fuchsia…. which is definitely not on of my favorite colors. I would honestly probably wear it more if it was a dark blue or green.
It’s supposed to last 24 hours, is made with natural moisturizers, and is both cruelty free and vegan!

What’s awesome is that there are over 40 colors to choose from if you want to buy one of these lipsticks! You can choose any of them from Sephora for $20.00! In fact, I may go buy one of them soon…
(P.S. The picture doesn’t show how obnoxious the lip color was in real life.)
IGK Rich Kid Coconut Oil GelFullSizeRender (14)

I love coconut oil, but I’m also picky about what I put in my hair, so I wasn’t sure how I would feel about this product. It claims that the coconut oil is supposed to nourish your hair, and leave it with a natural luster and softness. It is supposed to be used on fine to normal hair. I didn’t have a great experience with this, and maybe it is because I have thick hair, but it made my hair frizzy and heavy. I don’t think I will use this again, because it just doesn’t seem to be made for me. It is made without parabens and sulfates, and if you know me at all, you know that’s a huge plus for me. I read reviews saying it smelled amazing, but the scent is pretty boring and fairly standard for a hair product.

Sephora has two different sizes, one for $15.00, and the other for $27.00. Obviously, I don’t recommend this item, but y’all can decide whether you want to pay that much for this.

FullSizeRender (12)

Yves Saint Laurent in the scent Black Opium

As someone who isn’t a huge perfume person, I almost always like the scents I get from Sephora Play! The notes include Coffee Accord, Orange Blossom, Cedarwood Essence, and Patchouli Essence. If I read these before smelling it, I would be incredibly confused, because it doesn’t sound like these things would work well together. It smells sweet and rich, but not fruity. It is also a subtle scent, and isn’t overpowering at all. It was also an Allure Best of Beauty award winner.

My sample is a spray, which is the bestttt, instead of a roller or just a bottle, which is awkward to use. This scent is available at Sephora in sizes ranging from 0.33 oz to 3 oz, and prices ranging from $28.00 to $118.00.

I really liked 3 of the 6 products, and it would have been 4 if the lipstick was a little more muted. AND the estimation of these samples would be about $29.00 this month! That’s not as much as ipsy, but I only paid $10.00 to get these products! I hope next month I won’t get as much for my hair, and I get some lipsticks that aren’t as bright.
Don’t forget to subscribe! I’ll obviously keep doing these every month, and may even change over to some videos. Please comment any suggestions for future posts, and let me know what you think of some of these products.

